Past Women in Sport Coaching recipients

2019-20 Women in Sport Coaching Scholarship recipients
scholarship recipients 2019.jpg

Congratulations to Jessica Blake (hockey) and Abbey Savage (swimming) on being the successful recipients for 2019-20.

Each of the coaches receive $5,000 as part of the partnership between Womensport and Recreation Tasmania Inc and the Tasmanian Institute of Sport.

Womensport and Recreation Tasmania president Dana Faletic is pleased to continue the partnership with the TIS to offer support to female coaches.

Ms Faletic said "In coaching, as in many other areas, women face barriers to participating. These range from personal barriers, such as lack of time, to structural barriers, such as lack of female role models in their sport. If we can help increase the number and calibre of female coaches, that's a win for other young women aspiring to be involved in sport."

Pictured from left: (Aug 2019) Sarah Courtney MP, Minister for Women, Abbey Savage, Jessica Blake, Jeremy Rockliff MP, Minister for Mental Health and Wellbeing.

2017-18 Women in Sport Coaching Scholarship recipients
scholarship recipients 2018.jpg

Raising the bar: Jacquie Petrusma MP with coaches Wenonah Sharman and Janelle Smith and Tasmanian Institute of Sport Manager, Performance Services Stewart Pither.
Picture: Paul Scambler

TIS colour_logo.png